The Rock School

Built in 1799

The earliest of New Canaan’s 11 one-room schools, the Rock School was built originally on a rocky site at the intersection of Laurel Road and Canoe Hill Road. It operated as a schoolhouse from about 1799 until 1933 when it was purchased and moved across the street as a private residence.

Saved from demolition in 1973 by extensive community effort and financial support, the structure was subsequently moved to the Society’s grounds. Its refurbishing was spearheaded by Harvey Jeacock (who also oversaw the development of the Tool Museum). Its soft yellow exterior actually replicates a color which surfaced during exterior restoration.

Following its renovation, the Schoolhouse was fully integrated into the Society’s history programs. Today, visitors can relive a day in the educational experience of a colonial child in New Canaan. Seated at old-fashioned replica desks, writing tablet in hand, they learn the “three R’s,” focus on the blackboard’s daily lesson, and experience the strict punishments of the day.