The Town House

Twenty-four years after it was incorporated as a town in 1801, New Canaan built its first municipal building, the Town House, which originally served as a voting place and a location for meetings. Read More

The Cody Drug Store

Originally located on Main Street, the Cody Drug Store offers a fascinating glance at one aspect of daily life in 19th-century New Canaan. The Drug Store retains its original fixtures, merchandise, and bottles. Read More

The Hanford-Silliman House

This house, located prominently next to the Town House, was built by Stephen Hanford, a weaver and New Canaan’s first licensed tavern keeper, at a time when Connecticut law required each community to have an “ordinary” tavern and inn for travelers. Read More

The Tool Museum

This small but important museum features an extensive and important collection of tools and implements from the 18th and 19th centuries, a time when Connecticut homesteaders and farmers established cottage industries. Read More

The Rock School

A beautifully-preserved example of a one-room schoolhouse, the Rock School was originally located at Laurel and Canoe Hill Roads. When it was threatened with demolition in the early 1970s, local schools and schoolchildren raised money and awareness to help relocate the building. Read More

Rogers Studio & Museum

John Rogers, known as “the people’s sculptor” for his popular, mass-produced statuary, built this studio and worked in it in the later years of the 19th century. Read More

The Little Red Schoolhouse

Located on Carter Street. This elegantly simple schoolhouse — known as the Carter Street School — served its neighborhood until its closing in 1957, after the last session conducted by Mary J. Kelly. Read More

Gores Pavilion

Located at Irwin Park, Weed Street. One of numerous modern buildings in New Canaan, this Pavilion was designed by Landis Gores, of the famous Harvard Five group of modern architects. Read More