Skip to content

Building Gallery

The Rock School facade

The Society owns or operates eight museums and buildings – The 1764 Hanford-Silliman House, The 1960 Gores Pavilion, New Canaan’s first drug store, the Cody Pharmacy, The Rogers Studio, two one-room schoolhouses, and Sellecks Corners Chapel.

Together these buildings tell the story of New Canaan’s history and some of its most notable residents. All buildings are open to the public.

An appointment is strongly recommended.

List of Historical Homes

A selection of significant New Canaan homes over 100 years old, Drummond Visitation homes, Landmark Homes, New Canaan Historic District homes, Silvermine Center Historic District homes have been preserved at the Museum.

Main Campus

Historical Trail

The New Canaan Museum & Historical Society's outdoor educational space is now complete. The Historic Trail project, funded by the many individuals and organizations who purchased either furniture or bricks along the pathway, makes the campus more accessible and inviting to all.

2021 saw the launch of The New Canaan Museum & Historical Society’s outdoor education space on its historic campus.

A family-friendly series of pathways connects the Rock School (a one-room schoolhouse), famed American sculptor John Roger’s own Rogers Studio, the 1764 Hanford-Silliman House, and the Tool Museum and Print Shop. Interpretive signage provides critical information about each building and its unique story. Anchoring the walking trail is the new 20 square foot terrace for activities, events, performances, or simply a place for families to gather. These new spaces offer visitors a way to explore and learn about the Town in an unstructured, safe environment.

As we celebrate the past, the New Canaan Museum & Historical Society is heading into the future with the construction of an outdoor education space on its historic campus.

2021 saw the launch of The New Canaan Museum & Historical Society’s outdoor education space on its historic campus.

A family-friendly series of pathways connects the Rock School (a one-room schoolhouse), famed American sculptor John Roger’s own Rogers Studio, the 1764 Hanford-Silliman House, and the Tool Museum and Print Shop. Interpretive signage provides critical information about each building and its unique story. Anchoring the walking trail is the new 20 square foot terrace for activities, events, performances, or simply a place for families to gather. These new spaces offer visitors a way to explore and learn about the Town in an unstructured, safe environment.

MAP STILL TO COME

The Society owns or operates eight museums and buildings – The 1764 Hanford-Silliman House, The 1960 Gores Pavilion, New Canaan’s first drug store, the Cody Pharmacy, The Rogers Studio, two one-room schoolhouses, and Sellecks Corners Chapel.

Together these buildings tell the story of New Canaan’s history and some of its most notable residents. All buildings are open to the public.

An appointment is strongly recommended.

List of Historical Homes

A selection of significant New Canaan homes over 100 years old, Drummond Visitation homes, Landmark Homes, New Canaan Historic District homes, Silvermine Center Historic District homes have been preserved at the Museum.

We rely on the generosity of our members and donors. Your dollars go to mount exhibitions, preserve house museums and collections, run programs, and operate our extensive campus.

We are a 501(C)(3) nonprofit organization and all gifts are tax deductible to the extent allowed by law.